Athletics, Me, School, Sports

For Everything, There Is A Season

Cliques… we’ve all been there. Personally, I fit into multiple cliques but have always been most generally accepted into the nerdy clique and the alternative clique. The problem is, I love sports! Track season officially starts today. We have the first practice of the season right after school. And really, I’m just very worried that I’m not going to have any friends on the team. At my previous school, there were four other girls who were already in my friend circle that were in track as well. This was really helpful to me because I really don’t get along with most of the athletic girls. I am friends with a couple of boys on the team, but generally we see less of them and the coaches discourage getting too involved with the opposite gender.

I know that I’ll be okay not having any girl friends on the track team, I’ll survive and still enjoy track. I just really don’t want to be the outcast again. I don’t want to be that girl who isn’t friends with anyone and isn’t very good; because I’m not! I know that. I’m a very mediocre athlete, but I’m in it for enjoyment. It never really helps, either, that I do things that are considered ‘weird’ by my classmates. I pray continually, I meditate before any competition, I listen to ‘old’ music, and probably lots of other things.

I’ve always been one to say ‘it doesn’t matter what others think of you.’ And it’s true! But, it would still be better to be accepted by my teammates and I really hope that I can make some true friends this season while also competing for the glory of my Lord and getting my body into better shape.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

I’ll bring updates in later on my experience with the team. Thanks for hanging on through this and I hope you can maybe relate and yeah!

Peace and Love,

Caitlyn

Leave a Reply

