Christian, Me

Happy Mardis Gras!

Matthew 6: 16 Moreover when ye fast, be not, as the hypocrites, of a sad countenance: for they disfigure their faces, that they may appear unto men to fast. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward. 17But thou, when thou fastest, anoint thine head, and wash thy face; 18That thou appear not unto men to fast, but unto thy Father which is in secret: and thy Father, which seeth in secret, shall reward thee openly.

Lent

Today, known as Fat Tuesday, is the last day before Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent. This brings about the season of 40 days of fasting. Lent will end on the 15th of April and begins the 1st of March this year. Technically, this is 46 days, but the Sabbath is not for fasting, so is not counted.

Fasting and Reflection

How/What Do I Fast?

The big question is, what do I fast? The point of a fast is to remove something from your life that you place above God or distracts you from God. Whenever you miss this object, activity, etc., you are to Reflect; think of God, pray, read the Bible, etc. This year, I am fasting social media (except my blog) and all lyrical music that is not Christian. I am going to totally delete all social media apps from my phone tonight after posting about my absence. I feel that this will definitely help me to focus on being in touch with my Father and creating a stronger relationship with Him.

One way that I definitely will use my reflection time with Christ is to meditate. I have taken traditional meditation techniques and changed them so that I can implement taking time in the presence of the Lord  and Holy Spirit and praying while in a ‘meditative state.’

Who Fasts?

Anyone can fast! Though Lent is primarily recognized by the Catholic Church , anyone from any church can fast for Lent or any time that you feel you should. Make a commitment and the stick to it. It’s that simple!

Hope this was helpful to all! Any other questions, just ask in the comments! Thanks a million!

Peace and Love,

Caitlyn

Leave a Reply

